Film Zest

Kolly, Tolly, Bolly fun.

Abhishek in remake of Ghilli? November 25, 2009

Filed under: film,Hindi — filmizest @ 9:08 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Bollywood on a South remake spree. Ghilli itself is a remake of Mahesh Babu’s Okkadu. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good move or not?  Personally I preferred the original to Ghilli (as was the case with Pokiri) but Vijay was really likeable and I enjoyed both the film and music. Abhi could possibly make it work, I think.

 

 Source: Sify.com     

 

It is almost confirmed that Prabhu Deva will be doing his next Hindi film with AB Corp, the company of the Bachchans.

 

The buzz is that it will be a remake of Vijay’s Ghilli, which itself was a remake of Mahesh Babu’s Okkadu from Telugu.

 

Prabhu Deva confirmed that he had met Abhishek Bachchan a few days back and narrated the story, which junior Bachchan loved.

 

He told sify.com: “I did meet Abhishek in Mumbai and narrated the story which he liked. My next film in Hindi will be with him some time in mid 2010, after I complete my Tamil film with Jayam Ravi.”

 

Right now, Prabhu Deva is in US looking for a heroine for the Tamil film. He will be starting his next untitled film in Paris, with most likely a new face as the heroine.

 

Great song from Ghilli. Trisha is so cute.

 

3 Responses to “Abhishek in remake of Ghilli?”

  1. Emily Says:

    I haven’t seen Ghilli (I don’t like Vijay much) but Okkadu is a good movie, and I think Abhishek will be great in it! He and Mahesh Babu share that sort of goofy-but-hot charm, so I can see it working.

    I’d love to see Bhoomika Chawla as the heroine again, too — she and Abhi were good together in Run.

  2. lapetitediva Says:

    I think Abhishek is a poor choice. I’d rather see Imran Khan. Not because I feel he would be a great casting decision, but simply because I find him hot, thanks to Kidnap 😉

    I’ve grown to like Ghilli. I didn’t like it the first couple of times I tried to view it, but a couple of months ago, I watched some of it again and decided it wasn’t as unwatchable as I initially thought.

    I liked Okkadu but I wasn’t crazy about the heroine, Bhoomika Chawla. She’s just one of those actresses who, for whatever reason(s), doesn’t appeal to me.

  3. filmizest Says:

    I forgot Abhishek had done run! He was good in that. He can probably stll get away with playing a college student.

    I feel the same way as Lapetitediva about Boomika Chawla. She comes across as very timid and passive. It bothers me. I didn’t like her in Tere Naam either.


Leave a Reply

